LIBRARY COMMITTEE

A library committee, which is a body consisting of persons who are assigned the job of looking after the library. The library committee is needed because the librarian alone should not carry the whole burden of a big institution like a library.

Objectives

A library attached or associated with a college and used by teacher, students and staff of the college. The objectives of library are as discussed below

- 1) It helps in all educational and instructional programs of the college.
- 2) It develops a habit of deep of and advanced studies of subjects beyond the text books of subjects, in students.
- 3) It enhances the understanding of different subjects or disciplines among the students.
- 4) It prepares the students as an intelligent aware, informative and enlightened to play the role of a responsible citizen.
- 5) It assists the research works and lays down the initiative base for research work in students.
- 6) It informs the teacher with latest up-dates in their respective subject area.
- 7) It provides healthy entertainment material to its users.

Powers and Functions

The library committees generally serve the following purposes,

- 1) To guide the Librarian in formulating general library policies and regulations which govern the functions of the library.
- 2) To provide proper documentation services and updating the Library collection.
- 3) To work towards modernization and improvement of Library and documentation Services.
- 4) To formulate policies and procedures for efficient use of Library resources.
- 5) To review Library readership department-wise.
- 6) To adopt measures to enhance readership.
- 7) To prepare budget and proposals for the development of the Library.
- 8) To recommend to the authorities the fees and other charges for the use of the Library.
- 9) To seek feedback on Library functions from readers.
- 10) To submit the annual report on the functioning of the library.
- 11) To take measures to increase the membership of the Library beyond the boundaries of the College.

The constitution of the Library Committee is as under:

Sr. No.	Name of Member	Designation	Position
1	Dr. Rajkumar S. Bagali	Principal	Chairman
2	Mrs. Shital Phalle	Librarian	Secretary
3	Ms. Sonali K. Diwate	Assistant Professor (Deg.)	Member
4	Ms. Pooja Mirajkar	Lecturer (Dip.)	Member
5	Mr. Yashwant Karande	Representative of Non-teaching Staff	Member
6	Mr. Akshay Sutar	Student Representative (Deg.)	Member
7	Ms. Archana Barad	Student Representative (Dip.)	Member